top of page

Tips & Tricks: Securing an Internship

Updated: Sep 10, 2023

Hi guys! Make sure to subscribe to my blog to get access to exclusive newsletters & post notifications: https://podun287.wixsite.com/blog/contact-9


& follow my Instagram or Tik Tok for exclusive content, like weekly tips & vlogs: https://instagram.com/pnotsosecret?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y= or www.tiktok.com/@ohshenza


This is a video of things I did to get my six-week internship. Enjoy!


Before you watch:

  1. Like I clarified in this video, even though I have a legal internship, the advice I give is generalised and can be applied to a variety of applications in different fields.

  2. Just in case I spoke a bit too fast, I have separated my tips into multiple videos.

  3. You can minimise the video, whilst you do other things on your device.


Intro & Tip 1: Research Company

  • Have a research strategy

  • My strategy: a) business operations, b) diversity & inclusion, c) career development & d) practise areas of interest

  • 30mins-1hr a day






Tip 2: Answering ‘Why [insert industry]?’

  • Tell an honest story

  • Structure: a)initial interest, b)what you did to consolidate passion, c)where you are at now (goals)



Tip 3: Answering ‘Why [insert company your applying for]?’

  • Strategy: 3 Core Reasons & What You Can Add





Tip 4: Answering ‘Tell Me About Yourself?’

  • Past Experience> Present Activity> Future Goals




Interview

  1. Know your CV & Prepare Reflective Answers

  2. Practise Competency-Based Questions

  3. Ask Questions that Convey Passion & Knowledge

  4. Make the Interview Conversational

Competency/ Skill

Question

Example 1

Example 2

Example 3

Leadership

Give an example of a time you…

S: T: A: R:

S: T: A: R:

S: T: A: R:

Creativity

Tell me about a time…?

S: T: A: R:

S: T: A: R:

S: T: A: R:




801 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe to get exclusive updates

Thanks for subscribing!

bottom of page